learn the power of self-discipline with me!

Janet Jackson, Janet, Tour, Royal Albert Hall, 2/7/2011, MadMan, Flickr

By August, I’ll have your abs. I’m determined! / Copyright by -MaDMAn- @ Flickr

“Sometimes the kick in the pants we need must come from our own foot!” ― Toni Sorenson (Source)

Self-discipline is a characteristic of self-love. When one is able to discipline the mind in a way that promotes positive growth in all areas of life–career, health, relationships, etc, one is able to gain clarity and focus on their dreams and make them come true as a result!

Currently, I am in the process of learning self-discipline. My focus, right now, is food. I wish to get rid of my addiction to sugar and become more discipline in my food choices, while also learn new healthy ways to deal with my emotions outside of binge eating and sweets. Although I am petite in stature and 29 years old, the health risks are too grave for me to continue on this path. Also, I believe my food choices affect my overall well being and prevent me from getting my Janet Jackson abs (lol). With all of this in mind, I am planning on doing a 7-day vegan challenge so I can learn discipline with not only my eating habits but also with my emotions and mind. If I can achieve this challenge, I can achieve a healthy lifestyle, a wonderful career and a successful business. The same rules would apply, just a different focus. And who knows? I may become a vegan longer than expected. You never know until you try right?

So for today’s ‘listen’ post, I feel it is only appropriate to feature an audio book titled “No Excuses! The Power of Self-Discipline.” Author Brian Tracy explains in clear and concise words on how to become more self-discipline and the power that comes with it from his own personal story with general principles. This may be the best 30 minutes spent today so take a listen and be motivated!

By the way, if you wish to join me on my 7-day vegan challenge. Please let me know! I will be doing the challenge the week of May 5th. If I gather quite a few of you, I may start a Facebook community for us to chat, encourage and talk about our 7-day journey together!

What area in your life are you trying to be more discipline? Let me know in the comment section! I would love to get your personal stories as well and I wish you all the best with your journey to becoming a better and more disciplined individual!

5 Responses to “learn the power of self-discipline with me!”

  1. Kelly Kuhn

    Great topic – how did your vegan week go? I’ve also been more self-disciplined with food the past two weeks. It’s tricky, because self-discipline can so easily become bullying. But it hasn’t eased over there lately because I’m keeping my mind on a dear friend of mine, asking my self many times a day, “What would Emma do?” Emma has dealt with many health issues, and found that they were primarily caused by the foods she was eating. It took 15 years of curiosity, patience, experimentation, and self-discipline for her to identify and eliminate the offending foods. And today she feels great. I’m keeping her in mind as I am on my current journey of eating for health, rather than addiction, compulsion, or just bad habits.

    Reply
    • alittlepositivity

      I am currently on my day #2 of my vegan week! It is going really well so far. Thanks for asking. I am trying to eat mainly whole foods so that I can detox all the crap in my body. I might end up doing this longer than a week but I don’t want to get too ahead of myself so going through this week. And yes I am learning to balance between self-discipline and bullying. I can be my biggest bully sometimes because I am so hard on myself so I can totally understand. I like that your inspiration is your friend, Emma. It is always cool to be around people who are living healthy. It’s great for encouragement! So I wish you the best on your self-discipline! Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

